GM '02 Sierra Denali AWD 4WS, Dana Rear Stuck Clutch Pack (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
New here, not able to post in the Drivetrain forum yet. '02 SD w/ 128k has a Dana Diff w/ the 4WS components attached to it, it chatters in reverse while turning. An old timer tech at my dealer told me to put a qt. of diesel fuel in it and do figure 8's in an open area to see if it breaks free. I've been a Mechanic for many years but never heard of doing that before and I don't want to do more harm than good. Only GM Quadrasteer fluid has been used in it from the beginning and has had several fluid changes. Any advice on freeing up a cluch pack without taking it apart would be appreciated.

I have had two different 4ws trucks and never had that issue. I can’t think of anything the diesel would hurt as a cleaner flush and change to the correct process. I had a 66 Chevy service truck that clicked every turn forwards or backwards. It was an old style limited slip diff that slipped when turning. Good Luck. I noticed the new all electric Silverado has the 4WS steer system on it.

New here, not able to post in the Drivetrain forum yet. '02 SD w/ 128k has a Dana Diff w/ the 4WS components attached to it, it chatters in reverse while turning. An old timer tech at my dealer told me to put a qt. of diesel fuel in it and do figure 8's in an open area to see if it breaks free. I've been a Mechanic for many years but never heard of doing that before and I don't want to do more harm than good. Only GM Quadrasteer fluid has been used in it from the beginning and has had several fluid changes. Any advice on freeing up a cluch pack without taking it apart would be appreciated.
Does this differential have a limited slip differential for sure? If it's chattering and it has 4 wheel steering (4WS) there are other issues this could be than a "clutch pack"