First birf and knuckle job complete! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Saturday and Sunday I successfully(?) completed my first ever birfield repack. I also replaced the wheel and knuckle bearings, as well as the knuckle wipers. AND I added an extended front axle breater tube sans evil flapper.

I pretty much followed the instructions in the ih8mud FAQs and some other links on the knuckle bearings.
I also used the parts list from Beowulf's "Section A" list. (I'll add the link later)
This includes all new bearings, gaskets, and wiper sets for the knuckles.

I'm a comlete newbie to this level of automotive mechanics, and I couldn't have done it without the generous help of people on this site.

Here are a few observations:

1. Snap ring pliers: Their paltry cost is much less than the pain of fighting with the damn little snap ring at the very beginning of the whole job.

2. Birfield: Is this a kick-ass burly peice of steel or what?

3. Removing/driving bearing races: Nerve-wracking the first time. Pain in the ass every time, but it gets easier with practice.

4. Brass hammer and drifts: Absolutely critical.

5. Speaking of bearings: Like someone told me on another thread, if you have brand-new ones, you will probably replace the old ones, regardless. It feels good to put in the new ones, and you don't have to meticuloulsy clean the old ones.

6. Don't get so envolved that you forget to take a break for lunch.

I only ran into a couple minor obstacles (other than a comical battle with a snap-ring).