Igniter Repair for Cheapskates (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Help. Me.

I'm away from my truck this week, but will try and take a look at it on Sunday or Monday so we can compare notes. Sorry that I'm no more help than that, but I'm pretty new to this particular problem, myself, and don't yet fully understand how it all works together.

Didn't use one when I did the conversion on my old Plymouth, but the modules kept dying within days of installing. So after troubleshooting and doing some digging around, I found out that they do not like anything less than 12VDC in continuous use. Added a relay to the circuit and the one I added the relay to never went out on me.

This has me a little worried about the longevity of my new igniter. Where did you install that relay?

This has me a little worried about the longevity of my new igniter. Where did you install that relay?

Honestly, for our rigs I wouldn't worry. Putting one in (just used the IGN+ lead that would normally go to the module & coil to trigger a fused direct connection to the battery from the module/coil) certainly isn't going to hurt anything, but may be a waste of time. My Plymouth had nearly 40 year-old 16awg (might've actually been 18. Can't remember for sure) with a ton of resistance in it and poor connections that resulted in low voltage and probably only a fraction of the needed current getting to the coil and module. You can always use a multimeter to check the voltage at the IGN+ connections of the igniter and coil, and if it's below what's indicated at the battery when the engine is running, you've got reason to install a relay.

I'm away from my truck this week, but will try and take a look at it on Sunday or Monday so we can compare notes. Sorry that I'm no more help than that, but I'm pretty new to this particular problem, myself, and don't yet fully understand how it all works together.