J. Utah's Build Log (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
The purpose of my build thread is to document the slow evolution of my 2005 Land Cruiser. I purchased the vehicle in July 2014. As it sits it is pretty much stock. I will list starting specs below. This vehicle will be my daily driver but also I intend for it to be used for general road trips on holidays and hopefully road trips that end with dirt roads, tents, dogs, and scenic views. I will say up front I am a 1-2 banana mechanic with a 5 banana sense of courage that can sometimes get me in over my head. You will try alot of stuff with extra time and a 6 pack in the garage on a Saturday.

I dont want to just lump on all the sexy things like lights and bumpers to make it look as if it can go anywhere but also add the many unseen things that allow all our vehicles to march on through the wilderness and explore with reliability and confidence. I feel I am starting with one of if not the best platform, a Land Cruiser. I know it will be a slow build so be patient with me. I will do my best with the help of this forum to sit down and strategically plan the install of each particular item with an eye towards future additions and environments.

2005 Toyota Land Cruiser.
Odometer: 129,347
Tires: Nitto Terra Grapplers (Id like either DuraTracs or maybe Cooper S/T Maxx)
Color: Black

As of 10/31/14
-Removed running boards.
-Installed VAIS SL3B (Highly recommend if you got the NAV in your 100.)
-Removed rear seats.
-Replaced plugs and bad alternator at 129k
-Pfran LEDs
-WeatherTech mats

IMG_1797.JPG

Last edited:
Yea the previous owner looks to have really cared for it. Leather is in good shape and paint/exterior has next to nothing as far as blemishes. Houston is great this time of year. Weather is really nice. 70s. Traffic is still bad depending on the time of day. I'd love to live in CO.