24v BJ42 - Intermittent brake lights (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi everyone. Having an issue with my brake lights on my 1982 BJ42 (24v). Occasionally the brake lights are not lighting up when I hit the brake pedal. If I tap the pedal a few times the lights will then come on. All the other lights on the truck work; including the taillights. I took the taillights lenses off and pulled the bulbs out. No sign of corrosion there.

I am by no means an electrical expert; far from it. I'm thinking it may be an issue with the switch or maybe a grounding issue?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

EDIT/FIX: I ended up replacing the brake switch - works perfectly now.

Part Number: 84340-22072
Price: $56.00 CAD

Last edited:
Have a look at the switch above your brake pedal. It is probably sticking or broken.

When you put your foot on the brake pedal, the first bit of pedal movement should take the pressure off the switch whereupon internal spring pressure (within the switch) should close the switch-contacts and light up your brake lights.

Conversely ....When the pedal-spring brings your pedal back up (after you've finished applying the brakes), the final pedal movement should open the switch contacts and turn off your brake lights.

:beer:

Thanks for the info lostmarbles! I took at a look at the switch. It does move back and forth when I move the pedal. Maybe the contacts are worn out inside? The rubber boot that is mounted on the pedal is also making contact with the switch.

I think on Monday I will head to Toyota and get a new switch priced out.

Make sure it is faulty first before replacing it.
PedalSwitch.jpg

One side of the switch should be live all the time (fed from your 15A STOP/HORN fuse) and the other should get power only when the pedal is depressed.