A few questions from person looking to buy one (long) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello,

I was directed to this forum as I have heard it was a great place to talk/ask about Land Cruisers. Let me start by saying I'm NOT a very experienced car guy and do not expect to drive a car more than 3,000 miles a year, so the language in this post is going to be pretty basic. I live in the city of Philadelphia and work as a plumber by trade so I do have no issues with getting dirty or doing work myself. I use a truck provided by the company for most of my transportation but I have realized that I would like to have my own personal vehicle.

I have a family friend who has been storing a 1991 Toyota Land Cruiser for several years for her friend who moved back overseas several years ago and is not coming back to the United States. The friend is getting tired of having the car taking up valuable garage space so the car has not been moved in that time. This is why she wanted to sell it to me since she heard that I was actually looking for a car to use.

Thanks to Slee's off road guide for newbies, I have noticed several items that I wanted to ask about and any answers would help me towards finally purchasing one (or not).

This is a 1991 Toyota Land Cruiser, which I believe is the FJ80/3FE. It has around 85,000 miles. Car still smells like new. I brought a new battery and it started up great. Air conditioning works great, radio works fine. Interior is clean and not damaged. Exterior is dusty but pretty presentable overall.

I noticed several things: