Corner panel estimate (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.ncmartec.org
Newbie here! Just bought an 85 fj60. Light rust on rear corner panels with bubbling paint. Frame and undercarriage only has slight surface rust. I live on coast of NC so of course my first course of action is to attack the corner panels with new metal. Any idea of what this would cost at a body shop. Of course I want it done right. No tiger hair & bondo slapped on and painted over. Just trying to see what I'm up against right off the bat. Thanks

Welcome! Need photos. Start looking around for a donor truck for an un-rusted sheet metal piece, or figure out how to bend one. If it's flat metal, it can be welded in, but you need to find a body shop or someone with the patience to do it correctly.

open door.JPG
driveway 3.JPG

As you can see...there is some discoloration on driver side rear panel and two small bubble on passenger side above rear tire. I just bought this rig and it's being delivered today so I haven't had the chance to taste it just yet. I'm thinking the discoloration is a previous bondo patch that's starting to bleed through. I know these areas are known for rust. I'll have more info as soon as I get my hands on it. CAN'T WAIT!!

Nice looking rig!

Just to give you a heads up, for years I used to keep my board up on a roof rack like that on a 60 I owned out in San Diego...but it finally caught up with me when the roof rusted out.

You can rinse the roof thoroughly with fresh water from a hose when you get home (after each use!), or put the board inside...but if you use the rack to carry the board (even rinsing the board off in the shower at the beach with fresh water after you are done with a session might not get all the salt water off well enough...), you will probably be fighting roof rust down the road...