Phosphoric acid rust removal (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I finally sourced some Phosphoric acid (85%) and I am curious if anyone else has used it on their land cruisers. I have a few spots on the truck that I've rattle canned to try and keep the rust off but it keeps coming back... This time I'm also going to use a good epoxy primer and top coat....

Will just brushing this on waiting and wire wheeling then repeat until the rust is gone be effective?

Thoughts, comments and stories?

I have used Muratic acid (almost or same as what you use) and after letting it sit on the rusty areas until its tacky just about to dry off.. I spray or use POR15... it helps the pain adhere a lot better

Not that I'm an expert but many forums and articles I've read say muratic acid is way more agressive an acid, not only that it also eats clean metal and will continue eating metal unit it is neutrlized. How long has the POR been on there? How's it holding up? Phosphoric acid will only eat rust until it burns itself out and become inert leaving a thin rust inhibiting coating... This is all just what I've read no first hand experience yet...

I get my phosphoric acid at home depot in the paint dept. $14/ half gallon. Works great, but slow to remove mill scale, and actually protects the metal via a chemical process.
Once I am done, wash with TSP and dry with a 50% blend of water and alcohol rubdown. Minimizes flash rust and speeds drying

Hi there, I've been to Home Depot, Rona and Canadian Tire...at all three places, I could not find Phosphoric Acid. I'm heading into Christmas vacation time now and would really like to get started on the rusty frame that my Cruiser has. What better way to spend my vacation time eh...under the Cruiser :D

So, anyone with ideas on where to buy Phosphoric Acid in Canada, please let me know!