BJ Starter (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Gentlemen:

I am new to Toyotas, and I sure could use some help. I purchased a 1977, Land Cruiser, 12 Volt from Honduras, and I need a starter (The original unit is "toast"). The car came fitted with a direct drive starter, and I am looking for a replacement unit, but here in Los Angeles, CA, it is like looking for the white horn of the black rhino.
1. Is there a starter for another Toyota vehicle that will fit/work?
2. Where can one find a replacement?

Yes, I am unenlightened in the area of Toyota diesels.

Walt Banta

Define "toast."

Can you have it rebuilt? Starters aren't all that complicated of things, and the Denso starters used by Toyota will have common parts. The parts that are not common are the housings and stuff--the stuff that doesn't wear out.

You can replace the starter motor itself with one from other models, but I don't know of a starter that is common to both the B and something else. There is also a difference between B series engines with iron or aluminum bellhousings. So, if yours matches your engine/transmission combo, then getting it rebuilt is the easiest thing to do by far.

We can get them rebuilt in Albuquerque in a day or two, for less than $100. I'm sure in California there's someplace similar. (we had our 3B starter rebuilt just two months ago--dropped it off mid morning, picked it up before dinner)

Dan

"Toast" is a relative term - do you know what exactly is wrong with it?

As Dan says you can get virtually anything rebuilt. However the most common type of 3B starter failure is just with the contacts in the solenoid - thats something you can (and should) repair yourself with a $10 contact kit. Its something virtually every 3B owner seems to do eventually, takes only 15 minutes.

"Toast" is a relative term - do you know what exactly is wrong with it?