Introduction / plans (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Mudders!

I'm posting this to introduce myself. I've been lurking for a few months while figuring out if the 80 series is right for me and then what to look for when buying used.

My background is that I bought my first off-road capable vehicle three years ago. It was a 1997 (3rd gen) 4Runner Limited with rear diff lock. It is a great truck and I had a lot of fun with it. Off road trails in So Cal, the whole of Baja, ski vehicle, home Depot, etc.

I basically did the Sonoran Steel System 7.2 lift, BFG A/T, and under armor to the 4Runner. I was just about to continue the build with front/rear bumpers, tire carrier, extra fuel tank, etc. when I discovered overlanding and my brother told me he wanted to buy a 4Runner.

So, the 4Runner was sold to my brother and the search commenced for an 80 series. I ended up buying a stock 1997 LX 450 with 195k miles for $5k. Pictures once I can post...

Good:

- From So Cal - no significant rust
- Looks as if it has never been off road
- Most maintenance records
- Interior in really good condition
- bit of wear on driver's seat
- one coffee stain on carpet
- Body in good condition
- front bumper dented (who cares!)
- two pea-sized rust spots
- scrapes on one plastic fender flare (who cares!)
- New pads and windshield

Bad:

- The truck basically sat for the last 4 years
- only 5k miles
- last oil change 4 years ago (it was relatively dark brown and nasty looking)
- coolant was dark and full of sediment
- Many oil leaks
- Only one car key
- Brakes really spongy

Neutral:

- No lockers but wanted ARB's anyway

So, what do I want to do with this truck?