LJ78 Weight Distribution Trivia (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
This is a pretty pointless thread but I have been struck by how even the weight feels among the four corners of my Prado that when I had the opportunity to measure the weight at each wheel I couldn't resist. I'm a pilot and an aircraft mechanic and I brought one of our aircraft scales home to ship to another shop and thought, "What the heck...I should weigh the cruiser."

It's important that the vehicle be weighed in a level attitude so I got some wood blocks that were the same height at the load cell. I put the scale under one wheel at a time and took readings. My findings were quite remarkable:

IMG_0262.jpg

Weights KG:

LH Front: 538
RH Front: 542
LH Rear: 567
RH Rear: 575
Total: 2,222

Weights LBS:

LH Front: 1184
RH Front: 1192
LH Rear: 1247
RH Rear: 1265
Total: 4,888

I weighed it with me in the driver seat (89KG) and 3/4 tank of Diesel cause that's what happened to be in it - also, that's typical of what I'd have in it while wheeling in order to limit spillage.

Vehicle Specs:
Engine: 1KZTE (converted from 2LTE)
Tires: BFG KM2 33 x 10.5 including spare
Suspension: Ironman springs with Ironman Foam Cell shocks with Airlift airbags in rear.
Aussie Lockers: F and R
Aluminum Roof Rack w/ lights
Three rows of seats installed
Stock bumpers
No winch (yet)

I thought it was pretty impressive how close the weight distribution is. Some day soon I plan to add a winch to the front which will just serve to balance it out even more. So there you have it, a pretty trivial post about the weight distribution of a 1990 Prado.

Thanks for posting
can you post some pictures of your truck?
Simon

It was a bad weather day and since I'm a bush pilot I had nothing to do but sit and stare at that scale and wonder.