62 Ran out of oil... Questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Just bought a 62 in Great shape body and interior :)

P.O. sold it non-running because it lost oil and seized.
Has 197000 on the clock. Crankshaft turns a bit with starter engaged.
Can I drop the pan and replace all main and rod bearings without pulling the engine? Assuming the best... that the crank is only minimally scored and can be dressed out.

Would like to get him running and assess the top end compression rings/valves.

I have read that pulling the 3FE with A440 is a bear!

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Im new to the 62's

My 81 FJ40 build is complete... complete rebuild... lots of help from MUD members! Awsome rig!

Just bought a 62 in Great shape body and interior :)

P.O. sold it non-running because it lost oil and seized.
Has 197000 on the clock. Crankshaft turns a bit with starter engaged.
Can I drop the pan and replace all main and rod bearings without pulling the engine? Assuming the best... that the crank is only minimally scored and can be dressed out.

Would like to get him running and assess the top end compression rings/valves.

I have read that pulling the 3FE with A440 is a bear!

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Im new to the 62's

My 81 FJ40 build is complete... complete rebuild... lots of help from MUD members! Awsome rig!

I would look around for a used motor that runs. This one will be a crap shoot and if it got all the way to seizing, it sounds like it's done. Swapping the complete motor should not be too hard.

Did it loose oil because it blew the galley plug?

4thwheel;6513501 I have read that pulling the 3FE with A440 is a bear! [/QUOTE said:
it isn't that much harder than pulling out a late model 2F. leave the trans in place, just pull the engine.

you could fill it with oil and see if it'll start, then you'll hear how bad it sounds.