Varrryyyyyy nice pig (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Did you happen to see the blue FJ55 that was on eBay a few days ago? I posted a link to it on the Preservation forum. It sold on Saturday for $16k. The seller had a link to his photobucket showing all of the progress photos. At first I thought he did a complete frame off but once I started studying the pictures I realized he took a lot of shortcuts. He left the headliner in, left all the hinges on the doors including the rear tailgate, the bodywork was just a lot of quick patchwork. It just looks like he did the work in a hurry to turn a profit. I hope the buyer studied the photos really closely and knew what he was getting. I mean, it looks really sharp with a spiffy coat of paint on it, the frame powdercoated and the engine cleaned up - but I wonder how long before it all starts rusting again?

Ya that seems like alot for that rig. I've got about 22k in mine and I've cut no corners.

You have $22k in your truck because you have done a lot of the work yourself, or worked out great deals. :)

I had over $19k just in labor. Not including material and the work that I did.

I think that $7k is pretty reasonable, especially if it is new engine, tranny, wheels, tires, etc. Parts alone are worth that.

Ryan

Ya that seems like alot for that rig. I've got about 22k in mine and I've cut no corners.

You have $22k in your truck because you have done a lot of the work yourself, or worked out great deals. :)

I think that $7k is pretty reasonable, especially if it is new engine, tranny, wheels, tires, etc. Parts alone are worth that.

Ryan

Maybe - but most people tend to shy away from unfinished projects and want drivers.

Maybe - but most people tend to shy away from unfinished projects and want drivers.