Expert Advice Please- What is this Leak? and How bad is this Frame? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Passed it up - Expert Advice Please- What is this Leak? and How bad is this Frame?

Passed it up - Unless a price drop...(not likely) -

Thanx for the input!

Hello all!

This is my virgin post and please be kind. You really have a wonderful community here and thank you to the support folks that make this all possible.

Been wanting to join the 80's owners ranks for a long time and now is the time - but is this the one for me?

Test drove this wonderful machine today - 1995 - 142K - diff locks. $6000.

Some rust on the fame - body is mint - looking for opinions on how bad is the rust? Its a NJ 80.

The 80 drives nice - transferred to low and engaged all the locks - no weird noises or anything unusual - but please keep in mind I am a newbie and the knowledge I have has been accumulated on this site ( thank you all for sharing all your stories) and not hands on - which I hope to change.
DSCN2535.JPG

DSCN2536.JPG

DSCN2537.JPG

Parked the truck on a small incline (front first) at the owners place and was looking around and I see this leak - spangly in the middle of the chassis - over the exhaust pipe - now the fluid was a little oily and I am by far not well versed in fluids - it was not water - possibly brake f or oil - it is close to the transfer case - so can it be it? - but the leak was on the side... and above the exhaust dripping right on the pipe! And it was a "lot" (more then the picture shows) - that was at the beginning.

DSCN2539.JPG

DSCN2542.JPG

Any help is much appreciated!

Thank you!

Tom

Last edited:
it's hard to tell from the pics. was the A/C on?

I was thinking a/c drip as well.
--
personally I would try to find a southern based vehicle frame looks pretty bad IMHO