1994 FJ80 Trnasmission/ECU problem (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Newbie here, looking for some direction. Just picked up a 1994 FJ80 with 53000 miles. Body & interior are execellent with a little rust underneath. Here's my problem- Transmission works great at startup (starts in low & shifts through all the gears), but once she warms up (5 minutes of driving), no downshifting on acceleartion (with exception of overdrive on the highway). If I start from a dead stop, it won't downshift at all, jsut starts out in high gear. Replaced the shift solenoids, still no luck. Shifts great & runs strong manually. Transmission shop said no error codes, but said computer is sending funky signals to the transmission once it is warmed up. ECU problem? Any suggestions?

Newbie here, looking for some direction. Just picked up a 1994 FJ80 with 53000 miles. Body & interior are execellent with a little rust underneath. Here's my problem- Transmission works great at startup (starts in low & shifts through all the gears), but once she warms up (5 minutes of driving), no downshifting on acceleartion (with exception of overdrive on the highway). If I start from a dead stop, it won't downshift at all, jsut starts out in high gear. Replaced the shift solenoids, still no luck. Shifts great & runs strong manually. Transmission shop said no error codes, but said computer is sending funky signals to the transmission once it is warmed up. ECU problem? Any suggestions?

First off welcome to MUD:flipoff2:. You have chosen the best year, that said without bias:rolleyes:.

At least 2 things point toward your tranny not being the problem. 1. Works when cold and 2. works manually. Plus the '94 tranny is the A442F, the stoutest of the 80s.