Fan Clutch and Water Pump Install (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
After a lot of reading (I am no mechanic) and some diagnostics I came to the conclusion that my fan clutch was toast. There are a billion threads on here about the subject and the Search function works wonders.

My symptoms were that the 'ol girl was experiencing hot flashes when running slow. Would be fine on the HWY but around town and idling she would heat up quickly. Neither is idle but with the warmer weather and wheeling around teh corner it was time to chase this down. Did the other tests suggested here on MUD and decided that the fan clutch had to go.

On the suggestion of many here and some guys in our club I decided to also replace my water pump at the same time (good thing - more on that later) it was not leaking but while I was in there..... so might as well do belts and hoses as well. After a trip to the local TOY shop I was many $$ lighter but eager to rip in to the job.

Like I said I had done my homework - there is a mountain of reading on here about the job and once the parts arrived it was time to open her up. I used a lot of the info from zcruisers thread about the job (part numbers are great to have when you show up at the parts counter) - for a noob and NOVICE wrench it was handy to have these on hand.