3VZ-E tune-up (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have never done a tune-up on my truck before. Its been at least 35k to 50k since it has had one, maybe more, so it needs to be done. I have found myself with a little extra time and not lots of money so I would like to do it myself instead of forking over the extra money to a mechanic.

I have done quite a bit of mechanical work on my FJ40 with friends' help as well as some parts replacing on newer vehicles. So I am pretty confident in my ability to do this. But I also want to do it right.

My truck is a '95 in good condition and it runs well but I have noticed a slight drop in fuel economy as well as the number of miles since the last tune-up. So what I am wanting is some advice on what to do and what parts I should check and or replace. I have a K&N filter I will clean and I know I need new plugs and I already got new wires. What about cap, rotor, and coil? Is that fuel injector cleaner you put in your gas any good? Is there any tips or anything else I should do or know?

Thanks for any help you guys can give.:)

I have never done a tune-up on my truck before. Its been at least 35k to 50k since it has had one, maybe more, so it needs to be done. I have found myself with a little extra time and not lots of money so I would like to do it myself instead of forking over the extra money to a mechanic.

I have done quite a bit of mechanical work on my FJ40 with friends' help as well as some parts replacing on newer vehicles. So I am pretty confident in my ability to do this. But I also want to do it right.