my 78 fj40 build-up (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
hey, im new to the 40 side...ive spent most of my time on the sixty page working on my 83. i got a 78 fj40 last spring and have been tinkering with it since i bought it. i finnaly got everything running right. got it inspected and am driving it daily now.

things to come...ome suspension...front and rear bumpers...sliders...knuckle rebuild of course...

mechanicals right now i have no leaks...knock on wood. clutch is good.... just put on a new voltage regulator...it needs a new water pump and fuel pump which are on the way....new radiator and heater hoses and exhaust....

just got new tires...staying with the 31 10.50's on stock rims...

got Kumo allterains....cheap..great tread...good in rain, light to moderate mud, snow and sand...

this will be a go as i can as with most of us here funds are limited...

oh went for the rattle can...no maintenance paint job...first coat on now...will sand...smooth and coat again...

i will say its fun to drive and cant wait to get it more road worthy for some distance trips to the beach this summer.
FJ.jpg
FJ1.jpg
FJ2.jpg

more pics...interior is in okay condition....little bit of rust in normal spots. frame is in decent shape...it will do for what i need
FJ3.jpg
FJ4.jpg

Whats the deal with the front fenders?

all PO stuff....drilled holes for those lights. had to use them for inspection....got oem fronts on the way....tail lights too....damn they aint cheap either...

Looks like a great start Dan! Needs a little mud on the tires I think. :hmm: [and the oem lights in a hurry. :grinpimp:]

Congrats!

Looks like a great start Dan! Needs a little mud on the tires I think. :hmm: [and the oem lights in a hurry. :grinpimp:]

Congrats!