Gas in Oil - Fuel Pump Failure? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

S4Cruiser

SILVER Star
Threads
I'm still learning my new to me 40 and am in the process of baselining the fluids. While changing the engine oil, I noticed the oil seemed 'thin', drained rather quickly and had a gas smell (PO used 15w40). I sent a sample to Blackstone but don't want to wait a month to start troubleshooting.

I also have noticed a strong gas smell from the truck. I have it parked in the garage and it's so strong that you can't spend much time in the garage with the doors closed without catching a buzz (not good).

A little background on the truck - Runs great and feels really strong, has a rebuilt 76 2F with 39k miles, new OEM carb, 60 series distributor, and new starter. The fuel pump is mechanical and was replaced via OEM 10 years ago. Gas tank was replaced with OEM steel 5 years ago but the truck has probably only seen 5k miles in this time.

No noticable gas leaks around the tank, lines, carb, etc. I'm leaning towards the fuel pump or gasket failing and pumping the crank full of fuel. I haven't pulled the plugs yet to see if they are wet, but I'm thinking that they are fine since the truck runs so well.

I want to replace the pump it to rule it out. I'm under the impression that OEM is not available from Toyota anymore but some have used the Kyosan fuel pumps from Napa.

Thoughts? Anyone have any other ideas/troubleshooting recommendations before I start throwing money at the problem?

:beer: - Jon

Sounds like a fuel pump diaphram to me. Does it leak gas from the fuel pump weep hole while it's running?

So would wet plugs point towards the carb and if the plugs are fine then the pump would be the culprit.

I'll check the weep oil in the pump during lunch.

Thanks for the help so far!!