Noisy Spider Gears? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Rear diff spider gears are making a "clacking" noise - I'm guessing this isn't normal?

I took a look inside the rear diff and it looks like the spiders are rising/falling on the side gears when moving, making the noise. The spacer in the middle moves up and down a bit as well. There is a 1 - 1.5mm gap between the spider cup washer and the carrier - see pic. Admittedly, I'm no diff expert - what am I looking for here? Thanks.
Picture 116mod1 (Small).JPG

Last edited:
I did some digging and apparently the spider gears only move to compensate for differences in wheel speed when the vehicle is turning and I heard the faint clicking when driving in a straight line as well, IIRC. So I guess this would remove the blame from the spiders??

I did some digging and apparently the spider gears only move to compensate for differences in wheel speed when the vehicle is turning and I heard the faint clicking when driving in a straight line as well, IIRC. So I guess this would remove the blame from the spiders??

I would look someplace else for your noise....

I would put some clean 90 weight in that diff though! that oil leeks aweful.

I would look someplace else for your noise....

So just to clarify, when you put your rear axle (or a customer's as I think you have an ARB) on jack stands and spin the tires (open diff), the spiders clack away?? I never remember hearing any noise from the rear up to this point.

Presuming that is normal - I will take a closer look at my u-joints and pinion bearing.

That is a lot more clearance than is normal by the factory specs. Whether it will make a noise that you can hear or not is debatable. It would be easy to reset it to factory specs with thicker shims.