Repair Stihl Chainsaw Oil Pump (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have a Stihl 028 with an allegedly busted oil pump - for chain oil. I took it to an authorized dealer and they said it would be $150 or $200 to repair. Its not even worth $100, so I am inclined to either toss it, or repair it myself. I have never worked on a chainsaw before, but I am pretty mechanically inclined. Anyone have experience changing a pump? (I will of course check for clogs, etc, before I actually change the pump, but since an auth dealer at a reputable repair shop said its busted, I figure its likely). Also, any idea where I can get a replacement pump?

I have a Stihl 028 with an allegedly busted oil pump - for chain oil. I took it to an authorized dealer and they said it would be $150 or $200 to repair. Its not even worth $100, so I am inclined to either toss it, or repair it myself. I have never worked on a chainsaw before, but I am pretty mechanically inclined. Anyone have experience changing a pump? (I will of course check for clogs, etc, before I actually change the pump, but since an auth dealer at a reputable repair shop said its busted, I figure its likely). Also, any idea where I can get a replacement pump?

Wait for D'Animal to chime in. He's the Cruiserdan of chainsaws. :cheers:

I Saw his reply to another guy with a similar proplem - in fact that is how I found this forum, by googling my problem. I hope he sees my post! Thanks

I Saw his reply to another guy with a similar proplem - in fact that is how I found this forum, by googling my problem. I hope he sees my post! Thanks

He'll see it. He has a way of sniffing these things out.... :clap:

I think he's on the road right now, but he'll prolly even know the part # off the top of his head.

He's kinda like the CruiserDan of the Stihl world...