Opinions on this choice of engine oil (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all..
I read in previous threads that Shell Rotella 15W40 is a popular choice for 1HD-T engines (at least that's what I found from Canadian owners). During winter months, Rotella 0W40 or 5W40 is what is used instead.

Now, I don't feel really comfortable switching Dino and Synthetic oils back and forth fearing leaks, etc... I would rather prefer to stick with one brand from one manufacturer.

I found that Petro-Canada makes the Duron line of lubes, I am particularly interested in their Duron-XL Synthetic blend. Their 15W40 and 10W40 weights in the XL line seem to be a good fit for Summer/Winter respectively.
I am no lubrication engineer by any means, but I just did a layman interpretation of the datasheets and found the Duron XL is the same or better when it comes to viscosity at lower temperatures. for ex. the Rotella 15W40 cranking viscosity at -20C numbered 6400 cPoise while the Duron XL had 4677cPoise at the same temp.

I would like to hear your opinions/expereince/recommendations.

BTW, here's the datasheets to all the above products:
Petro-Canada Duron XL: Our Products — DURON
Shell Rotella 15W40 (Dino): http://www.shell.ca/static/ca-en/downloads/shell_for_businesses/oils_lubricants/1-11.pdf
Shell Rotella 5W40 (Synth): http://www.shell.ca/static/ca-en/downloads/shell_for_businesses/oils_lubricants/1-98.pdf

:cheers:
A.

Last edited: