How much is this 60 worth? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
long time lurker, first time poster. I'm a newb to 60's, but have owned a 95 runner. lookin into a fun trail rig that i can build up. i have found a 86 fj60 around my area that has 261,000 miles on it at a dealer. has rust on the wheel wells, but not too much on the frame. interior is kinda ratty, but with some seat covers and a good cleanup, it should be suitable. it is tan in color, and the dealer has no service records because it was a trade in. they want $1500 but i am not goin that high for something with that many miles and absolutely no records. i drove it, and it runs good. no unusual noises coming from anywhere around the engine. what do you think is a decent startin price? how much longer u think that engine has til it calls quits. i may consider restoring it later on down the road. how hard would it be to get rid of the body rust? thanks for ur help.

Offer them 800....
As fr as the rusts concerned you will prob have to cut it out and fab or buys some new wheel well. Most just cut out the rust and fab some patches.

That's a lot of miles hence the 800 if that. Who knows you could get another 10,000 out of here with a good tune - up, replcing all the fluids and I mean all the fluids/oils.

It all comes down to what are you willing to pay for her, knowing you want to rstore her in the future. I take it this will not be your daily driver. I'd go for it if I needed/wanted another one.

Good luck.

FWIW, I'm cruising right past 300k... These motors LAST.

I say $1000 is a great buy, but you really should post pics on here.

These motors do last but the 60 that I bought two years ago had 179,000 and now I know that the PO did not take care, 2 ovaled out pistons, cam worn compleatly flat on two cylinders but I still rebuilt it love that big 6.