I need a short tutorial on diesel motors..... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm specifically looking at 60 series TLCs. What motors came in what years and what were the pros/cons of each?

If there's somewhere this has already been discussed, could you kindly point me in that direction? Thanks!

probably been discussed to death.

as far as I know most commonly...

None in the US

in Canada:
BJ60's had the 3B
HJ60's had the 2H
no diesels for 62's

in Japan:
same as above plus
BJ61's had 13bt
HJ61's had 12ht

Sorry don't know the year specifics of each but bj60's I think started in 1981 and hj60's a little later... the bj61's and hj61's were later like 88-91 I think and had a high roof

3B - 4 cyl 3.4L about 90hp
2H - 6cyl (about 120hp??)
13bt - basically a 3b with a turbo = more power and more versatile (for altitude etc)
12ht - basically a 2h with a turbo

I'm not an expert and could be wrong on stuff or missing info, but that's your basic gist off the top of my head

Hi bigndn

Try reading EVERYTHING on this site:

TLC FAQ v3.0 LAST MODIFICATION 08/10/03

I'm rather ashamed to say that I read this for the first time only a couple of days ago.

And I do remember seeing info there on the changes that have occurred in the models over the years (although it doesn't concentrate on diesels alone).

In fact it contains so much useful information it is amazing. And I would say it is very valuable reading indeed for anyone wishing to purchase an old cruiser for the first time.

(Some information that I've posted on this site - thinking that it hadn't been said before - was already just sitting here too.)

:cheers:

The 2H motor is rated at 103hp, not 120.....

probably been discussed to death.

the bj61's and hj61's were later like 88-91 I think and had a high roof
My HJ61 was an 85 and low roof. I think oz got them in 84 but its possible Japan had them earlier.