how do you check dist signal generator? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Signal generators are the same for all years. There is only one part number that is actually available, and it fits them all.

HTH.

According to SOR, 78-80 signal generators are a different part number than 81-87 and the early part is 1/4 the cost of the later part. I have no personal experience with 78-80 distributors, so I am relying on SOR.

Stop it, y'all are making my head hurt.

As an experiment, turn the distributor very slowly by hand past the trigger point. There is no induced voltage, so no beep. If the dissy is parked anywhere, there is no continuity. The only way to trick the beep tester is by spinning it.

Interesting.. Both of mine beep in between the trigger points. both were functioning when they were removed. The trigger points "disconnect" the system.

One of mine does it slowly as well (the shaft is almost seized). I have not tried the free spinning one slowly yet.

When I do it slowly, the lapse in "beeps" is truncated. Meaning I can move to the trigger point, stop when the beep stops, then after a second the beep starts again.

The MSD actually works by an interruption in connection. That is why you can test it by grounding the Violet and green wires together and then pulling them apart as Chris was mentioning (see page 24 of this page http://www.msdignition.com/pdf/WireDiagrams/WDTN.PDF ) . To make the MDS trigger it has to break a connection...

Not to kill your head or anything ;)

According to SOR, 78-80 signal generators are a different part number than 81-87 and the early part is 1/4 the cost of the later part.