00 4r Tranny Help (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm pretty new to all this - and totally new to the forum - but looking for some "help" - have a 00 4R with few mods (3" lift, sliders, etc) that spends most of it's time taking mu lovely lady to work - but we love to take it out and play - MO/ARK woods & CO mtns. BUT - has some tranny troubles - mech thinks it's a bad lip seal and needs to go in to fix it. big $$ - so thought of upgradiing while we're in there. Any ideas?

First, Welcome!

Second, the best upgrade (and most cost effective) is a tranny cooler. Very easy to install by just tapping into existing lines. Can do at any time, and this will save your tranny on the long slow crawls, day to day traffic, or while pulling.

Another option is the Valve body upgrade, by IPT or Level 10. The valve body would have to be removed and shipped to their facility for the upgrade (turn around time is about a week). Usually this is only needed for routine heavy towing or supercharged engines. Expect to spend around $700.

Read http://www.yotatech.com/showthread.php?t=99764&highlight=IPT for more, and check out the links on post #20.

First, Welcome!

Second, the best upgrade (and most cost effective) is a tranny cooler. Very easy to install by just tapping into existing lines. Can do at any time, and this will save your tranny on the long slow crawls, day to day traffic, or while pulling.

Another option is the Valve body upgrade, by IPT or Level 10. The valve body would have to be removed and shipped to their facility for the upgrade (turn around time is about a week). Usually this is only needed for routine heavy towing or supercharged engines. Expect to spend around $700.

Read http://www.yotatech.com/showthread.php?t=99764&highlight=IPT for more, and check out the links on post #20.

Automatic or manual? Gotta get that straight first.