First Post: 91 FJ80 - NO 4wheel HI (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello everybody, I am a newbie and this is my first post! I've been researching through this forum for a while now as I am in the market for a Cruiser to load with friends to take on trips to Yosemite and down Baja. I have a fast GTI for a daily driver and do not care about the speed, I want to haul people and gear for thousands of miles so reliability is my goal.

My question is this:
I am looking at a 1991 FJ80 with 214k miles. The truck does not run in 4wheel HIGH. The original owner drives it to work (3 miles away) in 4wheel LOW. The transmission shifts fine through the gears in 4wheel LOW (it could use a filter/fluid change though). When I shift into 4wheel HIGH, a higher pitched whinning sound occurs and the truck does not move.
Could this be a stripped gear or busted bearing in the transfer case or something with the transmission output shaft?

Other info on the FJ80: original owner, brand new 33" BFG All-Terrains, stock gearing, and approx 2" suspension lift (from Downey Off-Road I believe), aluminum front bumper. Owner is "selling to pay taxes, cannot aford to repair it himself."

Like I said reliability is my goal, I am willing to fix the problem and completely baseline the truck with new fluids, seals, filters, etc if I purchase it. It has been discounted by the owner to compensate for the repair cost.

Is it worth it, what do you guys think? Thanks ahead for the input! I'm located in San Diego

I wonder how many miles he's done in low range. I'd be a bit worried about buying a truck from someone who didn't bother to repair such a significant problem.

If he ignored this, it's unlikely he was good with regular scheduled maintenance.

Sounds like a stripped drive flange. If you pull the grease caps off the front axle you will probably see the axle turning inside the flange.