Front Drive Shaft is Loose (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Herb

SILVER Star
Threads
I was under my truck taking apart my rear diff after the explosion and I noticed that my front drive shaft wiggles a bit where it comes out of the transfer case.

Is this a problem? If so, could it be fixable by tightenting something or is it something like a worn-out bearing. It is not leaking or making any noises when engaged.

Nope, the on the driveshaft are tight. The wiggle is were it enters the tcase....it doesn't wiggle where it enters the front diff.

Sounds like the bearings are shot in the t/c, I am no expert by any means but IIRC, Poser posted up if you try to wiggle the driveshaft side to side and back and forth and there is any movement at the t/c output shaft the bearings are shot.

please correct me if I am wrong, I know you will.

Nope, the on the driveshaft are tight. The wiggle is were it enters the tcase....it doesn't wiggle where it enters the front diff.

You can't seem to catch a break lately. It is either the bearing or worse. Depending how long it has been going on it could have caused wear to elements other than the output bearing. If you don't know the last time the transfer case was gone through I would pull it as it is probably due for a rebuild. This is a great excuse to install an Orion... Honey I need a new transfer case... :beer:

Yep, the cruiser is beatin' me down...but life is good and the sun still shines.

I won't have time to rebuild my transfer case....or pull it for that matter. Looks like I'll be payin' somebody. How much would a pro charge to remove and rebuild a transfer case? I'll bet the tranny could use some help too. You know...its all three speed...maybe now is the time to go to 4speed.