WTB: FJ40 in Nor CAL (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Hi All,

Looking for an FJ40 for around $5k. I have no welding experience but I'm fairly good with a wrench. Goal is to eventually build it up into a nice off road rig!

Thanks in advance,
Roman

i have a 61 fj40 for sale in northern ca; stockton. very clean body and frame, chevy 383 small block, newish soft top and doors. $4500/obo/trades. still has the CA black plates on it. one of the earliest running fj40s in the usa!:grinpimp:
404sale.jpg

Thanks orangefj. I was hoping to get something with the stock inline 6. Thanks again!

sure thing.

if you plan on wheeling the cruiser and driving it up to the hills then you might want to re-consider your engine choice. the V8 will definetly get you up there faster.

same fuel economy
same torque
twice the horse power
less weight

I hear what you're saying. I'm just starting to wheel and I figured I'd be breaking more stuff if I had a V8.

yup, a kind right foot will be your friend.:)

from what i've read and heard, with a good V8 one needs to be a good driver. i figure you get the fj stuck and start gassing it up, drive shafts bend and break as well as other tranny and body parts. so i was looking to build around the inline 6.

actually what I would like to do is build up a nice fj which can be used off road ie(Rubicon) but also be used for road trips to the mountains (Cascades, Sierras) to remote sites for camping, fishing, and exploring.

you might want to do some more research. driving style determines breakage or lack thereof. having a V8 does'nt have much to do with that.

drive shafts normally don't fail and neither does the transmission or any body parts.