My needed repairs. any thoughts? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I just droped my 1994 80 off at Dan's Toy shop in Tucson. This is the first time I have had it looked at since I bought it about 6 months ago. I just wanted a plan of attack as I know very little about automobiles ( I build computers for a living). and wanted someone to give me a breakdown of what needed to be done. I Will be pinching pennys to be able to get some of this stuff done, but as it is completed I will be studying what Dan and his techs are doing so I can start to learn about doing my own PM and also light rebuilding work.

This is a priortised list of what they gave me as a sort of plan of attack please give me you thought on how it sounds.

1)Coolant hose from block to heater pipe is leaking coolent. Also, Radiator shows signs of restriction (possiable stop leak use). Recomened new radiator, thermostat, coolant bypass hose and a full coolant system flush with chemical and fresh water - $1050

2)alternator is weak with accessories on - $450 (includes replacing drive belts).

3)Valve cover gasket and distributor o-ring are leaking - $325 (includes replacing torn intake hose)

4)Power steering pump is wet - $400

5)Transfer case flange and speedo gear apper to be leaking - $250+

6) rear main seal may be leaking - $650 but need to fix obvious leaks first.

The truck runs great right now but I do want to get this work done over the next 6 months or so.

It has 142K miles on it so I was realy expecting a bigger bill then this but it is still a lot for me right now. I know that buy getting this stuff done I will keep my baby on the road for many more years.

Can someone also recomend a good referance book for the 1994 LC.
Keeping this LC in good running order is going to become a hobby I know. Right now i don't even know how to change the oil / filter or spark pluges.