SOLD 1975 FJ40 factory softtop (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Year
Vehicle Model
  1. 40 Series
Mileage
Color
rgb(249, 176, 58)
Do I build this one or sell it to preserve it to its original soft top status.
I plan to build an FJ but not wanting the soft top.
Is this a rare rig? Is it desirable to keep original?
Or do I just build it the way I want to.
Help with direction.
I have another I could build just would need more work. This is a great rig. Does have some rust in a few spots. But body is really straight.
I’m new to the FJ community but appreciate original rigs and would like to see this one built back to its original state and I’m just no looking for that build.
Thanks

D49F62AD-38BC-4FE6-8482-3E364E741705.jpeg

E17FEFB0-9514-4990-ACCB-176D910F647E.jpeg

9A533132-E475-40DE-A6B8-8975EC644138.jpeg

A84429F9-92BD-4220-A3B8-AD3E9356E944.jpeg

First rule of Cruiser club. Dont call them "FJ"s. Call them 40s or 60s or whatever, or Cruisers, but not "FJ"s. :)

Now, back to the 40. Do you have the seats for it?
Lol. Man my bad. Was just easier than writing 40’s have 3, 80’s have 2, 45’s buying one in a few weeks.
Loving them all.
Can I ask why?
Obviously I’m a newby. lol.

As far as seats came with what I think are the V rear jump seats. But not sure.

DB6703C8-2BEE-41C9-B8CB-DA6E7C7CD760.jpeg

I went and checked this out over the weekend. Firstly, I want to say that Jonathan is a very nice and honest guy, we had a good long chat about 40s and his impressive collection of Scouts.

A couple things that I noted from the inspection :

1. Many of the common rust points (adjacent door or rear, windshield frame) are in surprisingly good shape
  2. The engine is not present
  3. The t-case and trans are there but not statically mounted
  4. The u-bolts for the axles have been loosened and in the case of the FR missing
  5. Frame is cancer free (so far as obvious)