1970 FJ40 Transfer case rebuild (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
1675746258835.jpeg
I want to rebuid this transfercase from my 1970 FJ40, the stock 3-speed transmision was bolted to this transfercase. I have looked at a few after market rebuild kits that include seals, bearings and gasket kit. I am not 100% clear on the best kit to purchase and the year discription is not clear on some of the rebuild kits.
Looking for opions from ih8mud mechanics on what to buy.

Transfer case 2.jpg

Transfer case 3.jpg

Transfer case 4.jpg

Last night my new transfer case housing and rebuild parts arrived from Georg. He was helpful over the phone, as this is my first time rebuilding the transfer case. I'm sure he could help you figure out what you'd need, and he's got the parts.

Georg @ Valley Hybrids @ Cruiser Brothers
Shop 209-475-8808
Sales@valleyhybrids.com

My 1970 has a vacuum shift actuator and 3 on the tree linkage. That looks like the bell crank linkage which is on the early 4 speed t case I have for rebuilding.... I dont know the exact years (72-75 maybe?)

My 1970 has a vacuum shift actuator and 3 on the tree linkage. That looks like the bell crank linkage which is on the early 4 speed t case I have for rebuilding.... I dont know the exact years (72-75 maybe?)

That is a three speed manual shift transfer case. While not common here prior to the 72 model these were around in other markets from the start of this style case in mid 1963. The give away it's a three speed case is the length of shaft to switch between 2WD and 4WD. This style shifter change 4/75 on the four speed.