Avid rear bumper and swing arms look good (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Over the weekend I installed an Avid rear bumper with dual swing arms. 80% of the effort involved removing the original pieces, cutting 3.5” off the end of the frame, and cleaning up the old weld lines. Once that was complete the installation went very smoothly. I don’t have a lot of experience with such parts, but I am an aerospace engineer, and this was a quality piece of work.

Only one mild gripe … they did not include new mounting fasteners. The old ones kind of work but they really should have bigger heads and beefier washers. I found a great selection of such stuff at Belmetric and will swap them into the vehicle when they arrive.

ED4217DE-FCE6-4351-8213-61380D8AEDBA.jpeg

F6D85586-9349-47C0-B708-F7273B7F49F1.jpeg

C00EED03-C67D-4439-8498-3E485EF045E2.jpeg

3EAA1314-FBA6-4CDD-932D-8D36DCDA90F6.jpeg

1F422CF3-5115-43B7-8081-E2AD49CB8EB9.jpeg

I've been running this bumper on my 80 for 2-3 years. Its taken a beating and held up pretty well. I was frustrated when I got it because the 2" receiver was too small to receive anything. I've got a super heavy 37" spare mounted on it and I hopeful it will hold up. Havent tested it on a full blown trip yet.

3eaa1314-fba6-4cdd-932d-8d36dcda90f6-jpeg.3221306

No turning back when the angle grinder comes out... :clap:
The bumper looks good.

Too bad to hear about the 2" receiver hitch issue.

I've been running this bumper on my 80 for 2-3 years. Its taken a beating and held up pretty well. I was frustrated when I got it because the 2" receiver was too small to receive anything. I've got a super heavy 37" spare mounted on it and I hopeful it will hold up. Havent tested it on a full blown trip yet.