Seeking Advice on Re-Gearing Differential (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I've raised my 2002 100 series, added bigger tires, a front and rear bumper, rock sliders, a roof rack, lights, etc. Now my truck is bigger and heavier than it was when it came off the assembly line, and I've lost acceleration. Yea..... That's me crawling up Vale Pass in the right lane with the RVs and overloaded semis.

I'm hoping I can get some recommendations for a shop that has a lot of experience in re-gearing cruisers. I live in Conifer, so maybe a shop in the Denver or Colorado Springs area?

Thank you in advance for your help. I really want to take my cruiser to someone that I can trust to do an excellent job. Sincerely, Michael

It might be good to say up front that I am not a mechanic. I read the information here about visiting websites where I could size my gears based on tire size and weight added. I know that's how the pros do it, but I haven't got a clue. I'm a retired firefighter and a carpenter. So if you want to talk timber standards or how to keep your house in the woods safe from wildfires, I'm your guy. But if beating on it with a hammer doesn't fix the problem, I'm out. This is why I'm hoping to get a recommendation for a trusted shop. Thank you in advance for your assistance.

there are quite a few on here that will know exactly what you need, where to get it and why , just start a thread about your specific situation, or ask right here, and let the people in the know direct you.
do you know what gears you have?
a search on google with the ih8mud tag after seems to yield better results for me than the search on here.

Just a wild guess here but you may have 4.10's so you'd probably want to go to 4.56 or 4.88 depending on tire size

for instance my 70 series had 3.73 originally, previous owner went to 33" tires and 4.10's, i went to 35" tires and am going to 4.56's