Stock Underframe exhaust, bash plate design and build. (Completed) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
My underframe (stock) exhaust took quite a hit last June and almost ripped the O2 sensor out of the pipe.
EtW2fTLl.jpg

Never again! :flipoff2: (or at least this is my first attempt).

This is the bash plate skeleton tack welded together. It's 1/4" A36 plate. There will be a couple more gussets added and an additional vertical support.
c2Jjb0Ll.jpg

4yspN1bl.jpg

The flat on the left mounts to the two outside bolts that hold the transfer case support plate in.
Mh7wY3al.jpg

The vertical gusset with the single slotted hole mounts over the U-bolt that clamps on the rock sliders.
The new plate goes between the outside of the RS gusset and the nut and washers, no new hardware.
XAGx9J8l.jpg

The as yet unmade support will take advantage of the GIS skid plate frame mounting hardware and go here, probably going to need a longer bolt:

1673823386702.png

To get my bends in plate stock, I slot about 1/3 through with a cut off wheel and the angle grinder, then give them the old heave ho in the BIG bench vice. I made up cardboard templates to get my numbers before just going at it.
Before I weld them up, they get gouged out with a snagging wheel to get enough room to lay in a good root pass and a couple of top passes to replace the material.
dMzr9Twl.jpg

I have off tomorrow for the Federal Holiday, so baring anything unforseen, I'll get it finished up and mounted. Then show ya'll the final result.

Last edited:
Or re-route exhaust over frame. Love the thinking and engineering but have to weigh cost of this mod against exhaust work which also nets ground clearance or avoidance of damage possibilities. Keep us posted.

Obviously a lot of thought has gone into this but in the end you’ll have an exhaust pipe that can hang you up.