2008 Land Cruiser - what would you do and what's it worth? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

lcgeek

Glad to meet you!
Threads
I've owned a 2008 LC for about 5 years and currently have 260k miles. Only major issues was a broken valve spring a couple years ago . That was repaired right and the truck is always kept up on maintenance. Other than valve spring and up until 2 weeks ago ran flawless. A few weeks ago she lost coolant, got hot, and shut down. The cause of coolant loss was some plastic fitting. I flatbedded to mechanic, he replaced the fitting, added coolant and tested engine and systems. Surprisingly? All tested good, she ran great...for two weeks. One morning, I noticed a misfire on startup for a few minutes. You guessed it. She's now got a head gasket leak, about 1 teaspon in cyl 5 under 30 minutes of pressure testing. After a few minutes of coolant burnoff she runs great. I'm no mechanic so any repair path means $$$
Here she is
28652826697_5d5eeb76ad_k.jpg

While I contemplated repair options, I went ahead and bought a 2010 LX570, looks kind of similar huh?
52323006098_298e49c221_k.jpg

Normally I'd just foot the bill on the HG service (although not cheap since I have to pay someone) and call it a day. But she got hot and she's got 260k - just thinking out loud of going down that hole.

Next option, assume block is gonna be good, and plan to spend the coin to do all the "while you're in there stuff"

Next option, find a much lower mile replacement 5.7. $Ouch

Next option, I can't believe I'm writing this next part, throw some Bar Leaks in there and see if it seals the HG and drive on as a tertiary vehicle.

Next option - sell as is. Any guesses what she's worth as is?

Curious what the collective here would do assuming you're not mechanically inclined enough like to me to repair with blood, sweat, and tears :)

Last edited: