Installing Sheel-Mann seat heater on LX 450 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi there chuggers,

So I want to install the Sheel-Mann seat heater properly on a LX450 which it looks like the 450 is not ready to take it on and I wonder how to start. I do know that I have to check under the gear shifter cover to see if I have the correct wiring there but as a newbie:

1. How do I take the gear shifter knob out so I can take the console cover out?

2. How do I connect the Sheel-Mann harness to the battery?

3. Will I die doing it? 😂

I’m not an electrician but have done mechanical work on the rig. I just don’t want to fry the whole truck 🔥. It looks like the LX450 doesn’t come with the proper wiring harness.

I have read some posts in here but it is not quite clear for me where to start. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers 🍻

You are essentially starting from scratch, ie no wiring for the seat heater switches like some LC models have.

There are a couple different threads about installing seat heaters in an LX if you search.

1) you don't. I'm now realizing it's probably been several years since I last had mine off, but I believe you just lift the console up and then rotate it 90 degrees to clear the shifter.

2) if there aren't existing connectors under there, then run a wire with a fuse as close to the battery as possible into the passenger compartment. The most popular route is the unused rubber cover for what would be a clutch cutout in other markets. Connect that to a regular and trigger the relay using something like the cigarette lighter 12V wire. I like to use Posi-Tap connectors to tap into the factory wiring. Run the output from the relay to the seat heater switch's input.