Drive shaft stuck, what can I do (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

arcadian

GOLD Star
Threads
Took my 1983 FJ60 to have the transfer case seals replaced. Front was no problem. Mechanic said he worked all day on rear drive shaft and can not remove it from vehicle. How can it be removed? will it have to be cut off and if so any idea where I can find another one or will I have to have a custom one built? any suggestions appreciated.

Remove from diff end first. Once the bolts are out, pry free from diff flange, then the transfer end will have clearance to come over the studs.

You may also need weight on the rear axle /suspension to get the 2 flanges apart as much as needed.

we need more details. post a few photos of the problem. are the bolts rounded or something? If I was a professional mechanic, I think I'd be pretty embarrassed that I couldn't remove a LC drive shaft. This mech sounds suspicious and flaky.

Report back with more data points.

It may be overfilled with grease.

Try and pry on a flange and press the zerk fitting with a screw driver to release pressure.

This is simple stuff, so ...

If it won't compress (at T'case end), remove the grease nipple, it may be clogged, then compress the slip yoke.

Other than that, it just unbolts from the t'case flange and should pop off, maybe needing a few whacks with a mallet.

then the transfer end will have clearance to come over the studs.

Other than that, it just unbolts from the t'case flange
Admittedly, I've been under a truck with a one-piece case much more than I've looked at a split case for several years... does the split case have bolts or studs at rear output? If bolts, then my suggestion of removing the diff end first is moot.

Bolts.