Howdy! +Questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Howdy y’all. Been reading the forums for a couple years now. I own a rusty ol’ 89 fj62. Have had a lot of work done to it from K&H back in California. I’ve since moved to Texas and despite all the rust, the wagon gets some serious attention out here in the best way!

All that to say, I am fairly new to fixing car issues and I have looked around to find the answers for my current issues, and I can particularly find them.

So here they are: vehicle has been rev’ing high or slipping into neutral while in drive. Mechanic shop stated the atf levels are low
and for some reason they could not add more trans fluid. As if something was blocking new fluids. The front pump seal is leaking. That’s a vague description they gave me; however, I assume it’s in relation to the transmission. Lastly, transmission lines are leaking.

First things first, can anyone help me figure out why it won’t accept new trans fluids? Based on research here, I was wondering if it was a clogged hose below the trans dip stick? I apologize for the newbie terminology. Go easy on me. I’m dedicated to learning this and hopefully fixing it.

Side note: only transmission shop in my area can’t touch it until October. All booked up.

If you browse through the resources tab (at the top of the page) you can find and download a copy of the 1984-1990 Chassis and Body manual. The chapter on automatic transmission could help.

There is a drain plug to remove the transmission fluid. New fluid is added through the dip stick tube. I'm not sure why it won't go in. I suppose the tube could be bent or crushed, but then I would expect that to also interfer with the dip stick itself. The diagram below shows the location of the dipstick tube. Maybe you can do a visual inspection.

1661445629600.png