Auto locker up front? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I’ve got an 80 series and I’ve been reallllly wanting to run a front locker but seriously can’t afford even an E locker (also heard the headaches they tend to cause) for at least another year or two because everything is so damn expensive. I know that an auto locker in the front tends to be frowned upon but just how bad is it? I do drive in snow and having that extra front wheel pulling me along would be a great help. But having the manual hubs I feel like would help negate some of the main problems. I’ve been running one in the rear for around 2 years now and haven’t had a single problem.

A downfall and safety issue with lockers that is rarley mentioned is the fact that lockers will pull you down slope in slippery off camber situations.

Imagine driving up a dougway road that slopes towards a cliff or steep hill. If it is muddy, snowy, or slick than lockers will pull your rig downhill towards the cliff/hill. Usually roads like this slope towards the ditch side but every now and than some roads will slope in the pucker direction.

This is scary and it's also a big reason to go for selectible lockers.

But I only had this problem twice in 5 years running an auto locker in the rear of my old cruiser. One of the times a completey stock grand cherokee made it up the snowy hill and I couldn't because my rear end kept sliding off the road towards a sketchy cliff because of my rear autolocker.

Other than those two times I loved the autolocker in the rear.

Also if you have a part time rig than you can in a sense turn the front auto locker off.

Depending on your uses and driving style than maybe you should go for it.

Or maybe just save up a while longer and throw a selectable locker in the front.

Either way life goes on.