FJ40 Aftermarket Wiring Harnesses.... Which one? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'll spare you the gory details, but... my '71 FJ40 currently finds itself without a wiring harness. Well, it's still here... but now it's on the hood instead of under it (and the dash and wherever else).

Good news: All the wiring was cut and/or pulled from the original components, which are all still in place. In most instances, color coded wiring is still on the backs of said buttons, knobs, lights, etc.

Medium news: It's a Chevy swap, so a few deviations from the original wiring diagram, but shouldn't be a ton.

Bad news: I've never done this before. And I fired the kid who ripped it all out after I realized he was about to get in way over his head (and my budget).

I've got no interest in trying to rebuild the harness from scratch, so looking for something off the shelf, as it were. Painless was recommended, but they just informed me that they have disco'd the one they had been making for the FJ40.

Who else would you recommend?

First thing, get your wiring diagram from this link. It will come in handy even if you are installing aftermarket.

There are quite a few options, but as you have surmised, they are generic. Your Chevy swap actually helps you here. If you have a Chevy steering column swapped in, that also helps as most generics are based off Chevy schematics.

Search here on Mud. Many guys have done this already. Maybe a couple will chime in.

First thing, get your wiring diagram from this link. It will come in handy even if you are installing aftermarket.

There are quite a few options, but as you have surmised, they are generic. Your Chevy swap actually helps you here. If you have a Chevy steering column swapped in, that also helps as most generics are based off Chevy schematics.

Search here on Mud. Many guys have done this already. Maybe a couple will chime in.