2B knock (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I got my injector nozzles replaced by a so called mechanic. It was running ok prior to handing it over. I thought new nozzles would clear up some rough idleing. Well anyway when I got it back I started it up and noticed a pretty nice knock. I asked the mechanic where did the knock come from... He sorta looked at me cross eyed cause he didn't speak much english (i'm in okinawa). He mumbled in broken english that my timing was off. I asked him if he could adjust it and he said he didn't know how.........

SO the question is could my timing be causing the knock? It makes sense but I am new to diesels. I read in one of the B engine manuals how to adjust timing and does not look all that difficult. The engine has never knocked before. Is there anything else that needs to be adjusted after installing new nozzles? Any tips, tricks or comments would be awsome! Thanks for the help:beer:

I doubt the timing is out.
I know the 3B uses a gear (not belt of chain), so I would think the 2B does too.

My first guess:
Was it filled up with gas and not diesel?

When did it start doing this? Right after a fill up? Or in the middle of the tank?
My first thought would be bad fuel or gas.

If it happened in the middle of tank I would guess a pre-cup.
But the pre-cup guess is just that. A guess.

Cheers,
Nick

I doubt the timing is out.
I know the 3B uses a gear (not belt of chain), so I would think the 2B does too.

Cheers,
Nick

He's not talking about valve timing. He's talking about injection pump timing. And it could be out.

If it happened after a injection nozzle service maybe the crack pressure is set wrong. But that would be a guess.

But it could also be air circulating thru the system. After I did my injectors it took quite a bit of bleeding to get out the roughness. And it did knock about a bit.