My 60 keeps dying (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Picked up my FJ60 from Trail Tailor yesterday. Looks incredible, handling is amazing…engine sounds great.

Here’s the weird stuff. When I come off the freeway and put it into neutral it just dies. (On the off-ramp) first time it wouldn’t start (or make any noise at all). Made it to valley hybrids and so far have Georg stumped. He’s had calls into his network and they’re all stumped so far.

Starter is good
Alternator checks out
New battery and fuesable link
New battery cables
Fuel filter had no debris in it.

Bypassed the solenoid to check that. Bypassed the ignition (now I know how to hotwire a 60)

Only dies coming off the freeway when I slow and take it out of gear. Drives around town fine.

Anyone ever have something similar?

What engine?

Mine will do this sometime when I come off the freeway and brake hard. I'm no mechanic, but its almost like all the vacuum gets sucked to the brakes and kills the engine--at least that's what it feels like on mine. At least I still manage to get it to stop :)

Thinking now is it might be the EGR valve or possibly the smog module.

2F engine with 193k on the clock
Jason built this out for me. Only thing not touched was the engine.

Replace with another carb and see?

Gotta have a vacuum gauge installed inside the cab so you can see what the vacuum is or isn’t doing just before it stalls.

Betcha it’s the EGR sticking open. That’s exactly what mine did.
Everything is roses while you’re driving and EGR is open, but come to a stop and put it in neutral with EGR stuck open and it’ll stall cuz giant vacuum leak.

If the EGR valve is stuck open, attach another piece of vacuum hose to the top of the EGR valve and blow as hard as you can with your mouth - like a trumpet player until it feels like your cheeks will explode- then usually the EGR valve will snap back shut.