60 series 3F into 62 with automatic transmission swap (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I just inherited a 62 from a friend with no engine and a bad trans. It is in great shape in all the important places and I want to take the engine install as a DYI project. I have limited experience mechanically but very skilled friends who can and are willing help out. I was able to source a low mile 3f from a 60 locally for a good price and have found an automatic trans from a 62 - any reason why I can’t couple these? Obviously the 60 was an manual, but I don’t really want to have to do that swap with limited experience. There will be plenty of fun learning involved in this process so I am happy to keep it closer to how the tuck was intended to live for now. Any major differences I am not considering beyond the EFI on the 3FE that would cause this not to work. Thanks in advance for any advice or insight anyone can offer.

Last edited:
The FJ60 2F engine mated to the FJ62 automatic transmission would be a horrible combination- if it’s even possible.
The 2F redlines at 4000 rpm and sounds like the world is going to end when it gets near 3600 rpm.
You don’t want to bolt the FJ62 transmission to anything but a 3F-E (if you have to use that transmission).

Assuming you mean you sourced a 2F motor from a 60 (?). (There actually is a 3F motor designation, not offered in the US).

The first thing that comes to mind is the kick down cable that connects the 3FE throttle/EFI to the automatic transmission. With a 2F motor you will not have his attachment anywhere in the throttle linkage/carburetor. Not sure how that would play out.