350 Carb Recommendation (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

avicenna110

SILVER Star
Threads
Hi all,
I picked up an fj45 and it has a Chevy 350 on it. I looked up the serial and the suffix CLS and it’s from a 73 Corvette.
AC3DCB2D-0532-4FA6-ADAB-623DA546C1AB.jpeg

it doesn’t idle so I need to work on the carb. I know very little about these engines so any help is appreciated. It has the following carb on it:
77C89AF9-9BB5-4622-906E-034D49E9FED6.jpeg

6368FF32-AF48-46AB-B54E-D1D49F779238.jpeg

ED77B014-9D58-4DA6-BA26-1CCBB0EE180C.jpeg

with a zip tie doing some work there. Is this carb worth rebuilding? And if yes any recommendations on the kit? I’m open to getting a new carb if it’s plug and play and isn’t too expensive so any recommendations on carbs is appreciated as well. Thanks all.

I'm no expert but Ive known of a few people using quadrajets so id believe theyre decent carbs, not enough experience with them to recommend a a rebuild kit though. When i had a 350 in my fj40 I ran a holley 4412 cause they're the popular carb for sprint cars and my buddy knew them well if I ever needed to tune it, but I was basically able to bolt it on and go.

Yes it's worth rebuilding. There's a number on the side of the carb you need so you get a kit for it. Carb parts are getting rare, but most a/p stores should have or be able to get a kit. It's probably less than $20.