School me on sound deadener (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I need to install some dynamat or something in the rear of my rig to help with noise and I have never used this type of product before. I want to start with the area under the rear carpet and the rear quarter panels to try and mitigate my exhaust.

Questions:

1. Is there anything special I need to know before trying to install some sound deadener.

2. What brand? Dynamat or another brand?

3. What type? I see dynamat has a few different products, what type of dynamat (or other brand) should I use for underneath the rear carpet and the rear quarter panels?

Thanks

Personal fave is the Hushmat brand. Have tried a bunch of the cheaper stuff (Noico, etc on Amazon) and always come back to hush mat. Probably similar to dynamat in quality (haven't used dynamat specifically, so can't comment to that with authority).

Key thing is to get the surface of your rig nice and clean. I like to take the old deadener off with dry ice/alcohol slurry, but plenty of people don't do that.

Putting Hushmat down as first layer (sticking to sheetmetal), then if you want to go bananas, put a layer of SecondSkin Mass Loaded Vinyl down.

Many opinions on the best process, but for a fact based understanding of the motivation for NVH reduction methods, there has never been a resource better than the sound deadener showdown website that went down about a year ago.

Main point being covering you vehicle in 3 layers of sound deadener alone is not going to make your vehicle significantly quieter.