What is the longest you have let your 80 idle for? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Irish Reiver

GOLD Star
SILVER Star
Threads
Was having a chat with a new mudder and 80 owner earlier today and the question how long can you let your 80 series idle for? The longest I have done was about 6 hours with the A/C running. Assuming your cooling system is in good order I don't see the problem but not sure if oil starvation would be an issue. What are your experiences and how long have you let your 80 idle?

That is an interesting topic. I can't contribute to your question, but most i have let my rig idle was 1-2 hr the most on the trail due to a bad starter....But it will idle all day @ 187-190F

Last edited:
I've always understood that idling is something to avoid because it harms the rings and leads to oil consumption.

When I was younger I worked as a mechanic under this old guy that wasn't too bright. He "broke in" a new diesel tractor we got by letting it idle all over. That engine burned oil and never performed well.

I've always understood that idling is something to avoid because it harms the rings and leads to oil consumption.

When I was younger I worked as a mechanic under this old guy that wasn't too bright. He "broke in" a new diesel tractor we got by letting it idle all over. That engine burned oil and never performed well.

Diesel burnt at a low temperature (idle) can glaze the cylinder bores which prevents rings sealing, and causes oil consumption.

That tractor would have benefited from towing a heavy load at full throttle for a a day or too.

Early V8 diesel 200 series in Australia had problems with oil consumption because soccer mums never needed to push them above idle and weren't bedding in rings.

Found this in 1996 FSM... :nailbiting:

3. FOR VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH A CATALYTIC CONVERTER
CAUTION: