New knuckles on 97 LX 450 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
LCH Hagerstown recently rebuilt knuckles on 97 LX450. I’ve noticed that on the front right knuckle only there is significant grease leaking , I clean it off the driveway, the frame, brake calipers, etc - the next day after driving there’s more that’s leaked. Again the others are not doing this.

I’ve been driving for roughly 2 months since rebuild.

Any ideas why this one knuckle is leaking so much grease ? Is this normal?

63D03A1B-B65C-4F67-9C16-C44828D8EEEF.jpeg

That's definitely not normal. Possibly they nicked an oil seal when they reinstalled the birf or maybe the axle breather is blocked.

That's definitely not normal. Possibly they nicked an oil seal when they reinstalled the birf or maybe the axle breather is blocked.
Thank you. Unfortunately this adds to a growing of list things I’m having to redo because Land Cruiser Heaven did not do it correctly.

Appreciate the quick response.

I can't comment on LCH workmanship but nicking an oil seal when fitting a birf is not unheard of.

I can't comment on LCH workmanship but nicking an oil seal when fitting a birf is not unheard of.
When I did mine in August, the installation on the passenger side was way harder. I thought for sure that the seal was gonna be toast. But, so far it's okay. As to the OP, I too would suspect the seal.

When I did mine in August, the installation on the passenger side was way harder. I thought for sure that the seal was gonna be toast. But, so far it's okay. As to the OP, I too would suspect the seal.
Thank you. I’ll check the seal this weekend. Appreciate the second set of eyes.

Hmmmmm birf soup