Who has a Warn 8274 Winch on their FJ40? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Beautiful work. Sucks cutting into a fresh bumper but the results are worth it!!
Thanks, I had a little help with this one as i’m still learning body and paintwork. The pics make the bumper look better than it was. I wanted to fill the extra holes as well, worst case scenario was more welding.

I built my own 8274 mount for my 45 build. I wanted a factory look with a recessed fairlead. I don’t have leaf springs so I had more options for mounting.

I had a custom piece of 1/4 inch steel plate bent to fit in the front frame rails. I then cut and angled the bottom of the channel to allow the 8274 to sit as low as possible. I had the winch mounting plate cut from 3/8 steel then welded it to the front support.

I used an OEM bumper to cut and bend a recess in. There are more Details in my build thread.

27199826-E930-48B5-9014-748291CBFA5C.jpeg

D6FA8EF0-30D0-4A4C-9835-5BBBF0A62FA0.jpeg

D2F66767-95B2-4ECF-9814-48C92D52222F.jpeg

16098539-091A-4969-9690-02CC864AEEDD.jpeg

304F02C7-FF96-4153-9076-1A7C0423DF39.jpeg

Any 8274 owners have a thread about rebuilding theirs? Curious to learn more before I pull the trigger if I can find one.

Rebuilding the legendary Warn M8274 electric winch step by step​

This is a really good write up on motor trend’s online site. I’m using it to go through mine right now

Any 8274 owners have a thread about rebuilding theirs? Curious to learn more before I pull the trigger if I can find one.

There are several in the winching sub-forum here on Mud; this one by @flintknapper is by far the best, and the one I used as a guide:

My WARN 8274 rebuild part 1..... - https://forum.ih8mud.com/threads/my-warn-8274-rebuild-part-1.197470/

The winching forum has lots of good info as @1911 posted. Additional sources here:

8274 is a straightforward rebuild.