1996 Land Cruiser EV Conversion - EVJ80 Project (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Yes the first battery is going under the hood then any more batteries can go in all the other now empty spaces under the chassis. Or hell why not on a roof rack too?

This photo shows the truck how it is now pretty much with all the ICE stuff completely removed. Fuel lines, gas tank, exhaust, etc etc. It's never going back at this point!

PGX2Zvd.jpg

Really cool thread!
@J1000 Do you have an background on working on EVs?
I am also curious about how you will be mounting the batteries in the engine bay so there is little dust / water ingress
Working on them yes but I'm just a hobbyist.

I will build a steel framed box and weld it together and probably rivet aluminum panels to the sides sealed with silicone. that's what I can come up with as a low cost and relatively low weight but safe option. I will hopefully make it bolt up to the stock motor mounts and have a hook on top or something so I can lift it in and out with an engine hoist.

I finished up the battery stack today and all the BMS wiring. It was not nearly as bad as I was anticipating and it came together nicely. I'm really happy with the result. Now I just need to build a battery box to hold it. I am using the stock Nissan LEAF BMS but in a new configuration so the BMS wires had to be modified, some shortened some lengthened.

Half the BMS wires hooked up:

RWCVrvz.jpg

The rest:

mNEYdZM.jpg

Gyqcukh.jpg

Showing the correct voltage!

YqEwlxL.jpg

Plastic cover installed:

YdJYdky.jpg

JFXngvx.jpg

The little silver things are the temperature sensors.

Now I can hit those rock climbs at full send knowing my battery is safe and sound and all the wiring nice and neat.

Can we stick to tech
NO!
On the basis you reference Joe Rogan's 80 in your sig.
edit:AND your penchant for the gold package.

Last edited: